A Thousand Pieces of You Review

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

If you love physics, then here’s a book for you!

Yes, I’m one of those people who loves physics, but that isn’t why I read the book. I have seen this book stacked in the shelves in my local bookstore since last year but couldn’t seem to bring myself to save up to buy a copy, which is a distress. I really loved the blurb on the back cover that time. UGH!

But no matter. I have it noooow!

I love how the story goes from one dimension to the next, however, I felt disappointed at how the story went. I was expecting this whole adventure thing. I was very captivated by the blurb! Yes, jumping from one dimension to the next is an adventure, but not quite. I needed more.

There was a part where I loved, though. Somewhere in the book, a cat was mentioned.

Apparently when people travel between dimensions, their physical forms are “no longer observable,” which is a quantum mechanics thing, and explaining it involves this whole story about a cat that’s in a box and is simultaneously alive and dead until you open the box,and it gets seriously complicated. Never ask a physicist about that cat.

And that paragraph, I’m sure, is referring to Schrodinger’s cat! I’ve been wondering what’s up with that cat, but still can’t figure out what’s the fuss about it. I really like that theory though.

The funny part in this book, is Theo. Every time there is a shift in a dimension, he’s always found in the opposite side of the planet! I don’t know if it’s just me, or that he’s really meant to be far because Marguerite and him are never going to be together? I don’t know.

Now, for the ending, it doesn’t quite fit. It wasn’t enouuugh. I also needed more on that ending. But then again, that wasn’t the end yet…Book 2 is up!

Leave a Reply

