A Review on “Bridge to Terabithia”

Bridge to TerabithiaBridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

All these years, I’ve been focusing on reading the books that were suited for my age, but who would’ve thought that a children’s book would make my eye drop a couple of tears?

Truly amazing.

It has always been these kinds of books that gets us teary-eyed out of it’s simplicity and elegance! I had my eyes on this years ago, but it seemed that I didn’t had a chance to read one.

At first, it was just a simple story. Kids on their school days and so on. Then everything just changed. Leslie thinks deep. She opens her mind and thoughts to fantasy. Together with Jess, they created a world, another empire where they were the rulers. The king and the queen. And they called it Terabithia. A place where they would find comfort and adventures of their own. A place like nothing else.

I had come across a quote that Leslie had said and it’s just… beautiful.

“You never know ahead of time what something’s really going to be
like.”

In fact, what she said had a point. Sure, there are times where you could expect the unexpected, but there will always be a bit of alteration. Everything don’t always go the way you thought it would be. And that’s what made it beautiful.

Children’s books shouldn’t just be for children. They contain words that are simply uncomplicated and easy to understand, but it’s the type of emotion they deliver that gives off the best part. Bridge to Terabithia is never to be forgotten, and the morals it holds

I heard there’s a movie for this, and I’m looking forward to watching it. And I’m hoping it wouldn’t let me go “oh! That part wasn’t in the book!” and “where’s that part where bla-bla-bla.” …book nerd struggles.

Leave a Reply

